Now that it is July, it is time to start working on my website. I am beginning to realize that there is a lot that goes into the making of a website. You have to decide how to map it out, what topics/pages to include, what to write, and what kind of images/videos/audio will be included.

I have begun to map out my website and think about how it will look. This an "outline" look of what I think my site pages will be:
  • Homepage - This will be where I talk about the purpose and mission of my website. This will be where I give the basic story of the Trials. I will include maps and a few images here, as well.
  • People Involved - Here is where I will give the option to look at "The Accused" or "The Afflicted." I will tell a little about each category. I want to include images of as many of the people as possible.
                        "The Accused" - Here I will have a list of people who were accused of         
                         witchcraft during the Trials. Users will be able to click on a person to learn                   
                         more about them.
                         "The Afflicted" - Here I will have a list of people who were afflicted/the 
                         accusers during the Trials. Users will be able to click on a person to learn 
                         more.
  • Reasons for the Trials - This section will be dedicated to the research that I have been conducting as to why the Trials even happened. There will be a section about each of the possible reasons, which will include: King Philip's War, ergot poisoning, fraud, hysteria, and grudges. Hopefully, I can find images and videos to  help make these sections more interesting.
                            King Philip's War - I will provide information about this topic to suggest 
                            why it could have started the Trials.
                             Ergot Poisoning - I will provide information about this topic to suggest 
                             why it could have started the Trials.
                             Fraud, Hysteria, and Grudges - Because these may be more about speculation rather than based on actual evidence, there may not be as much information, so I might just bunch them together.
  • Gallery - Here I would like to compile all the images/videos/audio together so that users may look at everything together, instead of trying to find which page they saw something on.
  • Sources - This will be where I will provide the sources for all my information. I will list all books, articles, and websites. Also, I will show where I found the images/videos/audio.
  • Fun - I thought I would add this last section to provide extra research and information for users. I would like to list museums and other notable places/websites that users might want to visit or look into.

This is currently how I envision my site. Obviously, there could be changes made as time goes on, but I believe I like this set up.

Also, I began to look at images that I might use for my site. I was really worried about copyright infringement, until I realized that most of the images I need were produced way before copyright laws were brought up. Most of what I will need will be in the public domain. These are a few of the images that I'm thinking of using:
If you have not already figured it out, you can click on each picture to see it individually, along with a caption. There are many more images out there that I would like to use. I cannot wait to add to the collection.
Tess Evans
7/14/2013 12:57:52 am

What an interesting topic of choice! I love reading about the witch craft trials, and after you complete your website I will learn even more about the topic. I will have to brush up on my knowledge of King Philip's War, but I like how you want to tie this in with trials of the accused.

Reply



Leave a Reply.