I finally got the book by Norton and started reading up on King Philip's War again. It is very helpful! I'm glad I got the book again! I think it will be helpful in finding information on the people my website will talk about, as well.

  • Ann Putnam, Jr.'s father, Thomas, was a veteran of the War.
  • Mary Walcott's great uncle, George Ingersoll, was a lieutenant during the time of the War. He witnessed some gruesome events.
  • Many of Mercy Lewis's relatives were killed during the assault on Falmouth.
  • George Burroughs was actually the minister there until the assault, and he did not return until 1683.
Although, this book is mostly focused on how the wars were connected to the trials, it does briefly mention other possible reasons. Norton talks about how some scholars looked at ergot poisoning and encephalitis. Ergot poisoning is already a big part of my research, but I never thought about encephalitis. I will have to look more into it and maybe add it in.

Next, I will be looking into hysteria, fraud, and grudges as reasons for the trials. In a book by Bernard Rosenthal, I found many instances that make fraud and hysteria seem like plausible reasons. There was an instance where Elizabeth Hubbard (an accuser) was being guarded. She saw the spectral of Sarah Good (an accused who was tormenting her). Her guard struck at Sarah Good, without seeing or feeling anything. Supposedly, the attack left Good's arm injured. Rosenthal asks why didn't Good flee after attacking Hubbard? She could obviously move around freely. That leaves us with fraud. Hubbard had to know about Good's injured arm previously to being "attacked." It could have been hysteria, but that would only account for seeing Good, not her injury.

I'm realizing that I have a lot of work that I need to do on my site. I haven't actually posted anything on my site. I have just been compiling information. I think I will go ahead and do the easy parts (sources, gallery, homepage, etc.) that way I can focus on the hard parts for the rest of the class.
7/15/2013 09:54:32 pm

I would definitely start to at least get your various pages set up so that you can enter information as you go...we are down to a week and a half!

Reply
Tess Evans
7/20/2013 12:11:17 pm

The book seems very interesting! I believe the information on Sarah Good will be interesting as well. I also started with the basics, but I have submitted information in sections throughout the month. I will be excited to see the finished product!

Reply



Leave a Reply.